Kool-Aid Lip Stain

I don’t really like makeup, especially lip stuff. It feels heavy to me, it doesn’t taste good, and I’m not allowed to lick my lips. Seriously, I sat in a Clinique chair one time and I wanted to lick my lips after the lady applied lipstick and gloss, and she yelled at me. What the hell? That’s like a natural thing people do. And what if I want to drink something? Drinks are wet too.

So I was pretty excited when The Beauty Department posted the Kool-Aid Lip Stain idea. Apparently this idea has been around for a while, but this is the first time I’d heard of it. It’s super easy; you just wet your finger (or whatever you use to apply the stain–next time I’ll use a cotton swab or something since my finger was stained for a few hours), rub it on your lips, and wipe off the excess. It works awesomely, and it lasts all day!

I used the tropical punch flavor, which is supposed to be the reddest of red. Other shades include…

  • orange/red (cherry)
  • peach (peach/mango)
  • bright pink (pink lemonade)
  • light red (strawberry kiwi) – my next try!
  • purple (grape)

Some say this process burned their lips and made them peel, but I didn’t have any problems. There was a slight burn, and it was super sour to taste, but nothing unbearable. I was amazed how brightly it went on, and 8+ hours later the tint was still there. Plus it’s a stain, so there’s no weird texture or heaviness on the lips. I’ll definitely use this trick again.

I might be trying to dye my hair with Kool-Aid soon, but my hair is dark, so we’ll see how it works 🙂

Still waiting on the wedding pictures! But I previewed them, and they’re awesome. Hang tight!

*UPDATE*

I did attempt to dip-dye my hair with grape Kool-Aid using the boiling method (1 package of Kool-Aid plus 1 cup of water, then holding my hair in the solution for 10 minutes). It was noticeably darker to me and people who see me often, and when I held it up to light my hair was definitely a purple hue. But honestly, it was barely visible. I later read that red Kool-Aid flavors actually work better on brown hair, so maybe I’ll try that next time. If anyone has any success stories of dyeing dark hair with Kool-Aid, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

